how to support the music industry during the coronavirus outbreak

As of this week, all of California residents are being encouraged to limit social interactions and to refrain from going out in public in order to reduce the spread of the coronavirus. This has led to a statement from Governor Gavin Newsom urging people to cancel events with over 250 people in attendance – which would include most music concerts, tours, and festivals. Even smaller DIY shows are being cancelled as an extra precaution to help curb the outbreak. For a list of some of the cancelled shows in Los Angeles, look here.

However, we all know how important shows and touring is for most if not all aspects of the music industry. Not only the artists, but their crew members, photographers, tour managers, etc. are now out of work for the foreseeable future. Live Nation has halted all spring tours and Goldenvoice has planned to cancel all shows for the month of March in Southern California – in addition to postponing Coachella and Stagecoach until October.

It’s times like these that we need to support those in the music industry and in creative roles the most, especially the smaller artists and their teams who rely on tours to make ends meet. Below are some ways that you can help support people who help make the experiences and the music that we love possible.

  • Buy merch and download music from artists.
  • Buy prints from photographers and artists.
  • Commission work from graphic designers / artists.
  • Donate.
  • If you don’t have the money, share any of these on social media for exposure and support.

Below are a list of artists and their links for you to give support to during this time. If you have also been affected by these cancellations, please email altangeles@yahoo.com with merch links and venmos.

Updated as of 3/15

Siam Jem (Band) – https://siamjem.bandcamp.com/merch, Venmo: Michaela-Rabina-1

Brit O’Brien (Photographer) – https://brittanyobrien.bigcartel.com/product/print-postcards-for-quarantine

Melisande Martin (Photographer) – https://www.melisandemartin.com/new-products

Julia Fletcher (Designer / Artist) – http://www.juliafletcherphoto.com/

Blivet (Band) – https://blivet69.bandcamp.com/

Hunny (Band) – https://hunny.shopfirebrand.com/

Petite League (Band) – https://petiteleague.bandcamp.com/merch

Portamento (Band) – https://officialportamento.com/store, Venmo: trapicalisland

Alyssa Reece (Photographer / Artist) – https://www.instagram.com/honeyy.lemon.tea/

The Paranoyds (Band) – https://theparanoyds.bandcamp.com/merch

Jay Som (Band) – http://store.jaysommusic.com/

White Reaper (Band) – https://store.warnermusic.com/elektra-records/artists/white-reaper.html

Palehound (Band) – https://palehoundstore.bigcartel.com/

Twen (Band) – https://twen.bandcamp.com/

Post Animal (Band) – https://shop.postanimal.us/

Best Coast (Band) – https://bestcoastshop.myshopify.com/

Vundabar (Band) – https://store.vundabar.biz/

Chico (Band) – https://www.instagram.com/p/B9vBP3Vnjlc/

Syd Trip (Photographer) – https://www.sydtrip.com/

Why Not (Band) – https://whynotband.com/home

Sure Sure (Band) –https://suresure.shop.musictoday.com/store/

Skin Mag (Band) – https://linktr.ee/_skinmag

recent posts

%d bloggers like this: